Key ministerial portfolios change in Sri Lanka

Key ministerial portfolios change in Sri Lanka

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa changed the ministries of 7 ministers in a cabinet reshuffle on Monday afternoon (16)

One of the notable changes was that of the Health Minister Pavithra Wanniarachchi was sworn in as the Transport Minister while Keheliya Rambukwella was sworn in as the new Health Minister. 

Pavithra Wanniarachchi, who has been seeing the health ministry through the COVID-19 crisis, came under intense criticism last week for understating coronavirus infections.  Opposition members calling for the appointment of State Minister for COVID Control Dr Sudarshini Fernandopulle as health minister instead.

Last week Keheliya Rambukwella said that the government will continue to fulfill its responsibility in vaccinating the population against COVID-19 and that the rest is “in God’s hands”.

Prof. G. L. Peiris has been appointed as the new Foreign Minister while Dinesh Gunawardena is the new Education Minister .

According to the President’s Media Division, Gamini Lokuge has been given the portfolio of Minister of Power while Dullas Alahapperuma is appointed as the new Minister of Mass Media.

Namal Rajapaksa has been given a new ministerial portfolio of ‘Development Coordination and Supervision’ in addition to his existing Cabinet portfolios of Youth Affairs and Sports.