Sri Lanka’s entire cabinet resigns

Sri Lanka’s entire cabinet resigns

All Cabinet Ministers have decided to resign from their respective ministerial portfolios, SLPP parliamentarian and Leader of the House Dinesh Gunawardena said.

The present cabinet ministers have all signed a general letter, consenting to resign paving way for a new cabinet to be formed amidst rising public anger against the government. Dinesh Gunawardena said the ministers have tendered their letters of resignation to the Prime Minister.

The letter is with Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa and will be handed over to President Gotabaya Rajapaksa. 

Prime Minister Rajapaksa will however continue as the Prime Minister and a new cabinet will be formed in the coming days. The prime minister is expected to hold further discussions with President Gotabaya Rajapaksa tomorrow (04), the MP added. 

It was earlier reported that Namal Rajapaksa had resigned as the Cabinet Minister of Youth and Sports and other ministerial portfolios.